Search This Blog

Friday, September 17, 2010

Chaplet of the Five Wounds of Christ

The earliest mention of the Rosary of the Five Wounds is found in a document dating back to 1821.  The Platea of St.s John and Paul, at Rome, relates "The Most Rev. Fr. General, acting in accordance with our spirit to promote devotion to the Passion of Our Lord, obtained permission to bless the Chaplet of the Five Wounds, at the same time enriching it with indulgences."
This chaplet was first approved by a decree of Pius VII dated Jan. 22, 1822.

Medals displaying the Wounds of Christ on one side and Our Lady of Sorrows on the other.  The medals are traditionally arranged so that one meditates first on the Wound in the left foot of Our Lord, then the Wound in the right foot, the left hand, the right hand, and finally the Wound in the sacred side of Jesus.
...............0 0 0 0 0  M  0 0 0 0 0  M  0 0
M  X X X  M  (.................................0
...............0 0 0 0 0  M  0 0 0 0 0  M  0 0

On the large (X) beads:
Eternal Father, I offer Thee the Wounds of Our Lord Jesus Christ to heal the wounds of our souls.  Amen.
On the small (0) beads:
Glory Be - for the Sorrowful Virgin
Hail Mary - for the Sorrowful Virgin
My Jesus, pardon and mercy through the merits of Thy Sacred Wounds.  Amen.

No comments:

Post a Comment